Institut für Pharmazie und Lebensmittelchemie

Prof. Holzgrabe

Seniorprofessor for Pharmaceutical and Medicinal Chemistry

Prof. Dr. Ulrike Holzgrabe

Tel.:  +49 (0) 931 / 31 - 85461
Raum:  03.016


Institut für Pharmazie und Lebensmittelchemie
Am Hubland
97074 Würzburg

Prof. Dr. Ulrike Holzgrabe

born: 1956 in Wuppertal, Germany
1974 - 1982 Studies in chemistry and pharmacy at the universities of Marburg and Kiel
1983 Dr. rer. nat. "with honors" awarded by the University of Kiel (faculty award)
1988 Postdoc Dr. Alan Casy, the "School of Pharmacy", University of Bath, UK Research on: Stereochemistry and pharmacology on piperidone-type drugs
1989 Habilitation in Pharmaceutical Chemistry (Research on: New Synthesis pathways to isoquinoline-like drugs)
1990 - 1999 Associate professor (C3) at the University of Bonn
Jan. - April 1995 Visiting research professor at the university of Illinois at Chicago, USA
1996 - 1998 Deputizing the chair in Pharmaceutical Chemistry (C4) University of Bonn
1997 - 1999 Vice-rector of the University of Bonn
1998/1999 Chairs offered from the universities of Tübingen, Münster, and Würzburg
since 1999 Chairperson of the Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry at the Institute of Pharmacy and Food Chemistry, University of Würzburg
2004 Chair offered from the free universities of Berlin, declined
2004 - 2007 President of the German Pharmaceutical Society

Offer of the CEO position of the "Federal institute for Drugs and Medical Devices" (BfArM), declined

2009 - 2011 Dean of the Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy
2018 - 2021 Vice President of the University of Würzburg (focus: teacher training as well as teaching and learning)
2022 Senior Professor for Pharmaceutical and Medicinal Chemistry (University of Würzburg)

  • Development of antiinfectives (from scratch and nature)

  • Development of selective ligands of muscarinic receptors

  • Bioanalytics and Analysis of drugs using capillary electrophoresis and NMR spectroscopy

1999 Wolfgang-Pauli-Award of the University of Bonn
1999 Phoenix-Science Award
2000 Lesmüller-Lecture
2016 Bazley oration, Society of Microbiology, Perth, Australia
2019 Bavarian Order of Merit (Free State of Bavaria)
2021 Elsa-Ullmann medal (DPhG)
2022 Ehrennadel der Bayerischen Apotheker (BLAK)
2023 Lesmueller medal (BAK)
2023 Honorary Citizen (Wuerzburg University)
2023 Science Award (Dr. August and Dr. Anni Lesmüller Foundation)
2023 Research Funding Award (Vogel Foundation Dr. Eckernkamp)

since 1995Editorial Board Member Pharmazie in unserer Zeit (bis 2012) / Pharmakon (ab 2013), Deutsche Apothekerzeitung und Medizinsche Monatsschrift für Pharmazeuten
since 2000Advisory Board Member Journal of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Analysis
since 2004Editorial Board Member Current Pharmaceutical Analysis
since 2012
Advisory Board Member Journal of Medicinal Chemistry
since 2013Associate Editor Journal of Medicinal Chemistry

Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, DAAD, Swiss Nationalfonds, Ministery of Education, Youth and Sports of the Czech Republic, Austrian Academy of Sciences, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, etc.

since 2000Chairperson of the "Committee of Pharmaceutical Chemistry", member of the German Pharmacopoeia Commission and member of the scientific board of the "Federal Institute of Drugs and Medical Devices"
2002-2010Chair of the expert group 10D at the "European Directorate for the Quality of Medicines", Strasburg, since 2014 chair of the expert group 11, and still member of the European Pharmacopoeia Commission and several working groups
2003-2008Member of the board of trustees of the University of Bonn
2008 - 2016Collegiate of the German research foundation (DFG) and since 2012 chair of the collegium "regenerative medicine and tumor research"
since 2010Member of the scientific board of the Helmholtz Centre for Pharmaceutical Sciences in Saarbrücken and the Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research in Braunschweig
Member of the Board of Pharmaceutical Science of the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP) and Co-Chair of the scientific Interest group (SIG) "Medicinal Chemistry"
Member of the Executive committee of the European Federation for Pharmaceutical Sciences
since 2016 Member of the selection committee of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

since 2003DFG SFB 630, principal investigator and vice speaker
2009-2012DFG Clinical Research Unit 216, principal investigator